The Conference of California Bar Associations is proud to announce that the John Van de Kamp Justice Through Laws Award will be presented to Chief Justice Tani Cantil-Sakauye at our Conference this year. The Chief Justice plans to accept the award in person at CCBA’s annual Celebration of Excellence reception, hosted by Chair Phyllis Kupferstein on September 14, 2018, at the Marriott Marquis San Diego.  We were honored to have Attorney General Xavier Becerra personally accept the inaugural Van de Kamp Award at last year’s Conference. The Award was established to honor our long-time delegate John Van de Kamp, and is given to a public official who has promoted justice for the people of the State of California.

CCBA will also be presenting the Legislator of the Year award to Toni Atkins, Senate President Pro Tempore, and the Pfeiffer award to Lilys McCoy. Other organizations, including LACBA and BASF, will be presenting their annual awards. We are also thrilled that the newly formed California Lawyers Association will be sponsoring our reception and presenting its own award(s).  It is amazing that years after the CCBA became independent, that we have been able to coordinate with the newly independent CLA, which is formed from the State Bar Sections, and reuniting colleagues that for years and decades enjoyed coordinated Annual Meetings together.